A summer in the Maritimes

When life gives you an opportunity, take it. Embrace it, grasp onto it and enjoy it as much as you can. I’m currently living in New Brunswick for a work contract. I’m from Ontario and before this move I had never lived away from home.

Before my parents and I made the trek to the East Coast, I was petrified. I thought I would have the worst year ever, I’d be lonely, make no friends and my life would generally be awful. Good attitude to have before embarking on something new, I know.

I am very happy to report I was so wrong.

At the beginning of May, five interns joined my work for the summer. Along with my really good friend and colleague Katelin, we had an amazing four months together. With the summer ending and the interns leaving, it sucks to say goodbye, but now is a good time to reflect on the great times we had together and to show off the beauty of the Maritimes.

The first short road trip we took was to Saint Andrews by the Sea. A really lovely and picturesque town with a population of just over a thousand.

Image
Sunset on the Bay of Fundy – Saint Andrews
Image
Sunset – Saint Andrews

We drove to the Irving Nature Park in Saint John on a rainy day, but even with the rain, the views were stunning.

Image
Irving Nature Park

The highlight for me was our day trip to Prince Edward Island, nicknamed the Gentle Island, or the home of Anne of Green Gables. Everything about PEI was gorgeous to me: the ocean, the rolling green fields, the trees, the sky…I fell in love and can’t wait to go back. We had lunch in Charlottetown and then drove to the other side to Cavendish. Because the island is so small, the drive to the other side was under an hour.

Image
Cavendish
Image
Home of Anne of Green Gables
Image
Atlantic Ocean – Cavendish – PEI

Another beautiful spot in New Brunswick is Grand Manan, an island you get to by an hour and a half long ferry at Blacks Harbour. Grand Manan is really pretty and in many ways embodied what I envision as the prototypical Maritime imagery: A stunning lighthouse with a backdrop of a beautiful blue sky, surrounding by the greenest grass you can imagine. The South Side of the island is breathtaking with really steep cliffs and gorgeous views of the Bay of Fundy.

Image
Lighthouse – Grand Manan
Image
South Side – Grand manan

We also went to Hopewell Rocks in Alma National Park along the Fundy trail. You can see the high and low tides come in and out if you spend the whole day there. It’s a really cool phenomenon, plus as the catch phrase goes, you can explore the ocean floor. When we were at Hopewell Rocks we also went to Cape Enrage – a definite must visit. The roar of the ocean, the rocks and watching the fog literally creeping in are breathtaking.

Image
Low tide
Image
Waves – Cape Enrage
Image
Cape Enrage
Image
I took these photos within 10 minutes of each other which is how quickly the fog can come in. It really is quite something. Cape Enrage.

Other highlights of my summer weren’t ones that I photographed but they were the day to day interactions with some of the greatest people I have had the pleasure of meeting.

Image
Samantha and I while waiting for Rhiannon to finish her race =)
Image
Samantha, Buddy, Katelin and I – South Side, Grand Manan

All photography is my own and cannot be used without my permission.

Leave a Reply

